Home Motor Sport F3 announces calendar and new tyre deal

F3 announces calendar and new tyre deal

THE Australian Formula 3 Premier Series could be even faster on track after inking a brand-new tyre deal with Hankook for the 2017 season.

The new tyre contract, which replaces outgoing supplier Kuhmo, should add to the excitement already building around the recently announced six round series.

The action gets underway at the Winton Raceway Open Wheel Festival (VIC, 13-16 April), where competitors will battle for the newly created F3 Rose City Trophy, in addition to points for the 2017 Series.

The Formula 3 Premier Series will continue to be coordinated under Formula 3 Management with a revitalised structure agreed by team owners and drivers at a meeting held in Adelaide last month.

For 2017, the series will also accommodate entries including older F3 chassis and other open-wheelers including Formula 1000, Formula Ford 2000, Formula Renault, Toyota Racing Series, Formula BMW, and similar vehicles.

“This aspect may sound similar to the still-born Formula A proposal, but in fact allowance for such vehicles has been in the Formula 3 Management regulations for a number of years. We would warmly welcome such cars and competitors to the Formula 3 Premier Series,” Formula 3 Management spokesperson Mike Drewer said.


Six rounds over seven months in four States:

Rd 1 Winton Raceway (Vic) 13-16 April. The F3 Rose City Trophy

Rd 2 Morgan Park (Qld) 19-21 May

Rd 3 Mallala (SA) 9-11 June. The F3 Master of Mallala Cup

Rd 4 Sydney Motorsport Park (NSW) 1-2 July

Rd 5 Queensland Raceway (Qld) 15-17 September. The F3 City of Ipswich Super Prix

Rd 6 Wakefield Park (NSW) 20-22 October. The F3 City of Goulburn Trophy


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here