Australia to host round as Super Trofeo Asia series returns

Following three years on the side lines due to the outbreak of COVID-19, Lamborghini Super Trofeo Asia will return to action for the 2023 season. The intercontinental series will host a round in Australia for the first time ever too.

Set to embark on its ninth season, the series will travel to five countries across the Asia Pacific region before reuniting with the European and North American championship for the Lamborghini Grand Finals.

Almost symbolically, the 2023 season will kick off at the Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia on the first weekend in May, the venue for the inaugural Super Trofeo Asia race back in 2012.

- Advertisement -
Suzuki Winter Hot Deals

Then it’s onto The Bend Motorsport Park near Adelaide for round two in June. The one-make championship reserved for Lamborghini Huracán Super Trofeo EVO2s will then head back up north to more familiar ground, at Fuji in Japan.

The circuit situated in the foothills of Mount Fuji has had a continuous presence on the Super Trofeo Asia calendar, hosting a round since 2012.

Having previously run at the former Formula 1 venue in Yeongam, the championship’s visit to South Korea will take place further north in Everland Speedway in August, before crossing the Yellow Sea to Shanghai in China for the penultimate round.

The season then wraps up alongside its continental siblings at a yet to be announced venue. The exact date and location of the 2023 Grand Finals will be revealed at the 2022 edition in Portimão in November.

To date, 254 drivers across 30 nations have participated in the Lamborghini Super Trofeo Asia championship since its inception a decade ago. A total of 96 races have been held on 18 circuits.

The 2023 season is also expected to boast the largest ever Super Trofeo Asia grid. Since its first edition, Lamborghini Super Trofeo Asia has produced 30 different champions.

The most recent to etch their name into the roll of honour, in 2019, were Evan Chen and Chris van der Drift in the Pro category, Toshiyuki Ochiai and Afiq Yazid (Pro-Am), Huilin Han (Am) and Clement Li (Lamborghini Cup).

All four titles were decided on the final weekend of the year in Jerez de la Frontera in Spain. Further details on the championship series, and its local round, will be available in due course.

News Desk
News Desk
The News Desk is the hub of Exhaust Notes Australia. It's from here that our team of writers journalists and photographers bring you the latest happenings from the world of motoring.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Social Media

- Advertisment -
2022 Aprilia Tuono 660

Hottest Reviews

- Advertisment -
Ducati Diavel

Trending Now

- Advertisment -


Sign up for our newsletter and get the latest car and motorbike news and reviews, in your inbox, every week.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

- Advertisment -
Honda CB750 Hornet
- Advertisment -
BMW S 1000 RR Launch