2023 Peugeot 2008 GT (car review)

When you choose your Peugeot 2008 GT, you can opt for either the fully electric e-2008, or the shiny petrol version, with a three-cylinder, 1.2-litre Puretech turbo engine under the hood. With a modest 96kW and 230Nm, this little SUV is surprisingly zippy.

We’re no strangers to the 2008, with no fewer than seven reviews over the years, and while there’s still no adaptive cruise or lane assist for the GT, there’s plenty of refinement on offer in the latest version of Peugeot’s small SUV.

Our Orange Fusion 2008 GT was fitted with the Premium Pack add-on. The boss had given me the heads-up on the i-Cockpit experience and seating position, but nothing could have prepared this Peugeot virgin for just how radical the layout and ergonomics are.

- Advertisement -
Suzuki Priceless Adventures

A steering wheel literally in my lap, blocking half of my view of the 3D dash, was a shock. Adjusting the seat to the lowest position and dropping the wheel onto my lap helped, but no matter what I tried, at 187cm tall, I couldn’t find that “just right” position.

The best I could manage was lowering the electric seat to the floor, and all the way back, with the wheel at the lowest point, to get the best view of the instrument cluster. The downside was it made it hard to reach the 10-inch HD touchscreen.

2023 Peugeot 2008 GT
2023 Peugeot 2008 GT

Yet my wife was impressed with the layout and loved it, so it’s one of those individual things. The seats are tight, sporty and supportive, alloy pedals well positioned and the footwell spacious enough. A/C ventilation is good up front, lacking out back.

That touchscreen is stylish and smartly curved towards the driver, the graphics are okay, but the software is clunky and the functions are difficult to learn and navigate, making little sense from an intuitive perspective.

There are hard buttons for the some climate functions and for the seat heating but everything else has to be accessed via the touchscreen, which is difficult while on the go. The 3D 12.3-inch instrument cluster is equally confusing.

It’s hard to see and navigate at a glance. And then there’s the steering wheel. You might love it, but this writer didn’t. It’s simply not for me. Adding to the experience, is the location of the cruise control stalk – which is completely hidden from view.

It’s behind the steering wheel, so not visible while driving. Last but not least, on the gripe list, is the the gear selector. It is gated and tricky to get used to. Reverse is below park, but to engage drive you shift to the left, down for neutral, and another left and down for drive.

dash
Inside the 2023 Peugeot 2008 GT

It’s not all bad though, and in fact there’s plenty to love about the 2023 Peugeot 2008 GT. Despite the quirks, it is engaging and fun, something most SUV’s aren’t – and that’s where its real value lies. It’s unique, stylish, and a joy to drive.

Nappa leather seats and a carbon-look theme feature in a top notch cabin, that also sports ambient lighting, plenty of cup holders, charge points, space and in our case, a sunroof too. On the outside, 17-inch alloys and grippy 215/60 Bridgestone Dueler rubber features.

It looks great, and stands tall and broad. The LED daytime lights give the car a face and personality, while the blacked out roof and guards are cool. It ticks a lot of styling boxes. On the road, it offers plenty.

The little engine that could gets to 100km/h in a claimed 9.3-seconds (9.8 in testing), via a well-spaced, lively 6-speed auto. Top speed is 199km/h – which is not too shabby. Across 555km of testing, we saw 9.8-litres/100km, which isn’t awesome.

It’s a quiet ride, and the kids liked the back seat. Handling-wise, for an SUV, the 2008 GT won’t disappoint. Steering is quick and light, the ride is sporty yet plush enough over the bumps, and it will still support a full load of passengers.

front seats
Inside the 2023 Peugeot 2008 GT

The brakes are adequate without being eye-popping. With a small fuel capacity of just 44-litres, you will be filling up regularly, but the trade off is worth it, for the sheer amount of boot space. We did the school run with four kids and not once struggled for room.

It has a space saver spare, and split folding rear seats for extra capacity. You can even tow with it, as the 2008 GT is good for 1,200kg braked. Handy if you need to bring something too big for the small SUV home from Bunnings or Ikea.

Other standout features include a wireless charge tray, a shortcut button to switch off lane departure warning, a huge centre storage bin and armrest, a seat massage function, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto, and a 6-speaker sound system. The rear camera is decent too.

At the time of writing, the 2023 Peugeot 2008 GT is priced at $47,990 drive away. You can find out more on the Peugeot Australia website or by talking to your local dealer. If you’re keen on one and need finance, talk to CreditOne.

Our test vehicle was provided by Peugeot Cars Australia, for review purposes.

boot
Inside the 2023 Peugeot 2008 GT

REVIEW OVERVIEW

Driving experience
7.5
Exterior styling
9.5
Interior look and feel
9
Technology and connectivity
7.5
Family friendliness
7.5
Value for money
7.5

SUMMARY

Pros - zippy acceleration; excellent gearbox; quality finish; sporty handling.
Cons -confusing infotainment system; low res reverse camera; driving position not for everyone; thirsty.
Jeff Ware
Jeff Warehttp://www.bikereview.com.au
Jeff Ware has been an Australian motorcycle journalist and publisher since 2001. He was the founder of Rapid Bikes Magazine, Knee Down Magazine, and Retrobike Magazine and currently heads up the team over at BikeReview. He's not a bad car journo either.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Social Media

5,142FansLike
839FollowersFollow
56FollowersFollow
267FollowersFollow
1,030SubscribersSubscribe
- Advertisment -
2022 Aprilia Tuono 660

Hottest Reviews

- Advertisment -
2022 Aprilia Tuono 660

Trending Now

- Advertisment -
CFMOTO 450MT

DON’T MISS A STORY

Sign up for our newsletter and get the latest car and motorbike news and reviews, in your inbox, every week.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

- Advertisment -
Honda CB750 Hornet
- Advertisment -
Ducati Diavel
Advertisement
BMW S 1000 RR Launch
<strong>Pros -</strong> zippy acceleration; excellent gearbox; quality finish; sporty handling.<br> <strong>Cons -</strong>confusing infotainment system; low res reverse camera; driving position not for everyone; thirsty.2023 Peugeot 2008 GT (car review)